Love and hate … and everything in between

Yoga anyone

I have worked out in my life on numerous occasions. I don’t consider myself in need of constant exercise … but then again it wouldn’t hurt me either 😉  In the new year I started thinking about resolutions and of course weight loss always comes to mind. But this time I took a different twist on it. Instead of sweating away in the gym, I have decided to do a different form of exercise – yoga!

Last year was a big year for me – filled with great joy but also I was faced with sadness, irritation and anger. Till this day when I think about certain things I can’t help buy get all riled up about it. I have a hard time letting go, especially when I feel a close friend or family member betrayed me. In thinking about resolutions and the new year ahead, I knew that the only thing I wanted to improve was my emotional and mental health! I know I need to let go, I know I need to let things not bother me, I know I need to do something about this or it will eat me up forever.

This is where yoga comes into play. A friend of mine gave me a dvd and one day I actually played it and was pleasantly surprised. I did the poses all the way through and felt amazing!! I felt a great weight was lifted off of my shoulders, I felt more at peace with myself and when I thought of those hurtful things …. I actually didn’t care 🙂 I felt hope where I haven’t felt in a long time and I was happy!

Yoga can do so much for a person. It releases tension and stress, it gives you great posture and flexibility … it is the kind of exercise that I feel I need at this time in my life. I really think all of you guys should give it a try. Start slow and just enjoy what it offers you. Get a new lease of life in this new year, and give yoga a try.

Leave a Reply

